Fortuna closes preseason with win over VVV

05 August 2023
Reading Time: ${ readingTime }
Home / News / Fortuna closes preseason with win over VVV
2023 VVV Fortuna

Fortuna won its last game Saturday afternoon in preparation for the new Eredivisie season. It was 2-3 against compatriot VVV-Venlo

Head coach Danny Buijs made quite a few changes to the team in the Limburg encounter. Paul Gladon, Sadik Fofana, Umaro Embalo and Stipe Radic made minutes as substitutes against Beerschot on Friday; against VVV-Venlo the four started in the starting line-up. In addition, newcomer Nathan Markelo made his unofficial debut.

The play in the opening phase was recognizable. From the first whistle, Fortuna sought the attack and put early pressure on the opponent. It produced small chances for Embalo and Milan Robberechts. With ten minutes on the clock, Fortuna took the lead. Gladon was worked to the ground by goalkeeper Jan de Boer. The striker struck from eleven meters and with success: 0-1.

After the opening goal a number of chances followed, including Robberechts and Belkheir's attempts. After half an hour the score was brought back into balance. VVV-Venlo created little up until then, but equalized through Michalis Kosidis. The Greek striker was completely free to head the ball in, but goalie Luuk Koopmans had no chance. Despite the two goals, the crowd in De Koel was treated little.

VVV-Venlo then came out of the locker rooms strong. The home team undertook several attempts, but could not get the lead on the scoreboard. Nick Venema in particular asserted himself. The outside player took the Sittard goal under fire several times. The Venlo storm continued for about half an hour, until the ball went to the penalty spot again. Gladon was worked to the ground again. Again the striker got behind the ball himself. Again with success: 1-2.

In the 80th minute, Osman Bulut seemed to put the game away for good. The youth player, who made his unofficial debut against VVV-Venlo, sent the ball delightfully towards the top corner at his first contact: 1-3. One minute later, however, it was already tense again, captain Rick Ketting heading in from a free kick. In the closing stages VVV-Venlo went in search of an equalizer, but it did not come. This made Fortuna the winner of the Herman Teeuwen Memorial.

Koopmans, Markelo (46' Sayadi), Fofana, Nieling, Umaro (90' De Jong), Radic, Özyakup (46' Ferati), Belkheir (69' Schenkhuizen), Robberechts (81' Bulut), Gladon and Tasci (88' El Gardoui).